Everything To Know About The New ‘You’re Driving Me Crazy’ Van Morrison Album


Musician Van Morrison is not slowing down anytime soon. The man behind “days Like This” and “Bring It On Home To Me” just announced the release of his third album in only seven short months.

Van Morrison | Photo Credit NPR

On April 27, the album You’re Driving Me Crazy follows Versatile and Roll With the Punches, which both came out in the final three months of 2017. The new album is billed as collaboration with organist Joey DeFrancesco.

The album contains original songs and new cuts from icons in jazz, blues, and beyond. Together, the duo performs hits and new songs alike. 

Van Morrison Teams With Joey DeFrancesco

Van Morrison, Joey DeFrancesco | Photo Credit NPR

Together with Joey DeFrancesco, Van Morrison album You’re Driving Me Crazy features blues, jazz, and other songs from the great American songbook. Most of the Morrison songs come from his back catalog.

In addition, there’s also a new take on the classic “The Way Young Lovers Do,” which originally came on Astral Weeks. Additional songs include cuts from Johnny Mercer, Cole Porter, and Guitar Slim.

In the past, DeFrancesco has played with icons like Miles Davis, Grover Washington, and John McLaughlin, among others in his career. 

Morrison Sings “The Way Young Lovers Do”

The Van Morrison album begins with “Miss Otis Regrets” by Cole Porter. The second track is “Hold It Right There,” followed by “All Saints Day” by Van Morrison. The fourth song is also by Morrison, with “The Way Young Lovers Do.”

Morrison howled, “We strolled through fields all wet with rain. And back along the lane again. There in the sunshine In the sweet summertime. The way that young lovers do…”

The middle of the album includes “The Things I Used to Do” originally by Eddie Jones. Then, there is “Travelin’ Light” from Johnny Mercer, followed by a few more songs from Van Morrison.

Finally, the album concludes with Peter Chatman’s “Everyday I Have the Blues” and “Sticks and Stones” by Titus Turner. The final two Van Morrison tracks are “Have I Told You Lately” and “Celtic Swing.”

Have you pre-ordered this new album from Van Morrison yet?