Lady Gaga Is Gaga Over Garth Brooks

Lady Gaga, Garth Brooks
Lady Gaga says she is a Garth Brooks fan (photo from

Pop icon Lady Gaga dropped a new album. And she wrote a bunch of the songs with country songwriter Hillary Lindsey.

So is Gaga going country? Actually, she already was, in a way.

She says she loves country music, and Garth Brooks is her country crush.

“Everyone thinks of rock ‘n’ roll and country in different ways,” Gaga tells Rolling Stone Country. “Rock ‘n’ roll, country and blues — they all have babies. So I love Johnny Cash, I love Neil Young, I love Garth Brooks.”

We all know Cash and Young have influenced other genres besides country — but Garth? He’s straight-up country, and people don’t usually reference him as an influence on non-country artists. Pop leaks into his music, and maybe that’s the common ground between him and Gaga. In fact, she says she listened to him when she was a kid.

“When I was little, my father used to play ‘I’ve Got Friends in Low Places’ really loud in the basement, and I’d catch him down there dancing by himself, screaming real loud,” she says. “I thought it was cool.”

Lady Gaga’s new album, “Joanne,” isn’t country. Well, it won’t be put into the box of country. Gaga says that whatever music sounds cool is what makes it on to her records, country-ish or not. 

“I have a general and deep respect for all country musicians, but I myself am not a country musician,” she says. “I’m just a musician — period. I love all different kinds of music and this is just what I wrote.”

Garth Brooks’ “Gunslinger” album

Garth Brooks, Lady Gaga
This album is set to drop on November 25 (photo from Taste of Country)

Garth Brooks’ forthcoming album, “Gunslinger,” is scheduled to drop November 25. Back on October 13, he released the first single, “Baby, Let’s Lay Down and Dance,” an uptempo song about a man in search of love.

During the writing of the song, co-songwriter Kim Williams died. Brooks had some words to say about it.

“[Williams] went down to Florida for vacation, and his daughter called and said, ‘Hey, we lost my dad today,'” he told Taste of Country. “I thought somebody was pranking me — you got to be kidding me. So I didn’t expect it.”

But he’s still very excited for the songs on this album.

“The last song on this album is a thing called ‘Cowboys And Friends,'” he says. “It was my life from the age 21 to 25 — college. And it’s just straight-ahead country. I think that’s why I love it so much. It’s just straight ahead 1, 5 — that old-time country. And I just love it. It’s real relaxed and real easy. Great one to end the album on.”

Here are all of the confirmed tracks so far:

  • “Baby, Let’s Lay Down and Dance”
  • “Whiskey to Wine” (Feat. Trisha Yearwood)
  • “There’s Gotta Be a Honkytonk Somewhere”
  • “Weekend”
  • “He Really Loves You”
  • “Ask Me How I Know”
  • “Eighteen”
  • “Cowboys and Friends” (confirmed final song on ‘Gunslinger’)