Balancing Yoga Poses for Each Chakra


The seven chakras in the body bring a constant flow of energy to our psychological, emotional, and spiritual being. When these centers become blocked, energy cannot flow, leading to imbalance and even disease. Follow these seven yoga poses to align each chakra for health and vitality.

Photo by

Root Chakra

The Root Chakra is situated at the base of the spine and develops the connection between the physical body and the earth. When balanced, this energy center brings a sense of stability and power in the physical world. Sun salutations can bring strength to this connection with a grounded focus.

Image Credit: DoYouYoga

Sacral Chakra

Sacral chakra is located in the lower abdomen and addresses sexuality, creativity as well as the ability to connect with and accept others. Full Boat Pose engages the core to open energy pathways through this chakra.

Image Credit: Yoga Magazine

Solar Plexus Chakra

Located around the upper abdomen, this chakra develops healthy self-esteem and confidence in our life’s path. Plank position brings heat and energy to this center for inner strength.

Image Credit: DoYouYoga

Heart Chakra

Love, compassion, and joy are wonderful signs of a balanced heart chakra. Open the chest and bring loving energy to the body with Cobra Pose.

Image Credit:

Throat Chakra

Centered in the throat, a balanced throat chakra allows for self-expression and healthy communications. Speak your truth with the help of fish pose and its activating energies.

Image Credit: Yoga Journal

Third Eye Chakra

Intuition and imagination are the functions of this wise chakra. The balancing function of Eagle Pose helps to overcome the ego and tap into the higher self.

Image Credit:

Crown Chakra

Sitting at the top of the head like a spiritual crown, this chakra takes us to a higher state of consciousness. Reach for universal connection with Warrior I.

Image Credit: PopSugar